The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 02, 2012, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Runner Interference Question

Parent here(again) looking to see if the umpire got it right today

PONY Tourn.
R1 on First.
BR hits ground ball to F4.
F4 moves infront of R1 to field the ball.
Umpire makes immediate dead ball call, even though no contact occurred.
R1 is called out.
BR is placed on 1st.

I thought the BR should be out along with R1.

Did the umpire make the right call??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 02, 2012, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,367
I'm pretty sure the PONY rule is the same regarding interference.

If your questions is whether or not the interference call on R1 was correct, don't know, you don't really give us anything to go on other than there was no contact (Which is not required for interference)

Placing the batter on first is correct.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 02, 2012, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 13,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg99 View Post
Parent here(again) looking to see if the umpire got it right today

PONY Tourn.
R1 on First.
BR hits ground ball to F4.
F4 moves infront of R1 to field the ball.
Umpire makes immediate dead ball call, even though no contact occurred.
R1 is called out.
BR is placed on 1st.

I thought the BR should be out along with R1.

Did the umpire make the right call??

Thanks
Where's the INT?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 02, 2012, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Without being there and seeing it, I'd say maybe. They must have seen something to rule INT, I'm thinking - especially since you think the B/R should also be out. PONY INT rule (Rule 9-8-j) However, PONY does NOT mention "contact is not necessary for INT" until you read POE #24, where it discusses all forms of interference, including contact, verbal or visual distraction, or any type of distraction that would hinder the defense in the execution of a play. If the umpire determined INT by R1 then yes the R1 is out and B/R gets 1st. Why would you think B/R should also be out? That's only if the INT, in the judgment of the umpire, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play and occurs before the baserunner is put out. Doesn't sound like it in your case at all. Was there visual or verbal distraction that hindered?

Hope that helps.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.

Last edited by LIUmp; Sat Jun 02, 2012 at 09:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2012, 06:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Thanks for the replys.

I was thinking the BR should be out also because the defense didn't even have a chance to put her out. It would have been an easy Put Out for F4 if it wasn't for the Dead Ball call. Actually it could have also been a chance for a Double Play too.

You all are saying the only why for the BR to be out too is if R1 intentionaly interferes with the attempt the PO the BR?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2012, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 13,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg99 View Post
Thanks for the replys.

I was thinking the BR should be out also because the defense didn't even have a chance to put her out. It would have been an easy Put Out for F4 if it wasn't for the Dead Ball call. Actually it could have also been a chance for a Double Play too.

You all are saying the only why for the BR to be out too is if R1 intentionaly interferes with the attempt the PO the BR?

Thanks
I'm still waiting to hear how this was INT
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2012, 05:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
I Didn't see interference. The offensive coach came out and questioned the call too. The same umpire made a similar call in another game. IMO he was calling interference to early, maybe trying to avoid a collision.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2012, 10:57am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 7,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Where's the INT?
Maybe F4 had to run around or otherwise avoid the runner before fielding the ball.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2012, 10:59am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 7,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIUmp View Post
Why would you think B/R should also be out? That's only if the INT, in the judgment of the umpire, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play and occurs before the baserunner is put out.
Or after.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2012, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Or after.
Not necessarily.

Under PONY rules, when a runner who is declared out (or after scoring) interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner, the runner closest to home will be declared out. (9-8-r vs. 9-8-j) In this case, this would be the B/R. But this is under a separate rule and done so to avert a runner who has already been declared out interfering with an opportunity to make a play on another runner regardless of which runner it is. It seems the same, but it's really not.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2012, 04:59pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 7,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIUmp View Post
Not necessarily.

Under PONY rules, when a runner who is declared out (or after scoring) interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner, the runner closest to home will be declared out. (9-8-r vs. 9-8-j) In this case, this would be the B/R. But this is under a separate rule and done so to avert a runner who has already been declared out interfering with an opportunity to make a play on another runner regardless of which runner it is. It seems the same, but it's really not.
Of course... but ... how is this "not necessarily" the B/R - there are no other runners on base!
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2012, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Of course... but ... how is this "not necessarily" the B/R - there are no other runners on base!
it would not necessarily be the B/R IF .... there were others on base.

I should have said, yes, but it doesn't have to be. But I didn't want to get too confusing to anyone reading it.

Seems like I failed in that!

Plus, according to the OP, R1 hadn't already been put out, so this rule doesn't apply here.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.

Last edited by LIUmp; Mon Jun 04, 2012 at 05:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2012, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
And as far as the OP goes, after reading your last response....how can we tell if the umpire made the wrong or right call??? You now say you didn't think there was INT yet you would want the B/R to be called out also? I'm thinking you are wondering why can't there be an out on the B/R in this situation regardless of the actions of the other runner. On edit, you did say that.

That's the way the INT rule usually works. Dead ball, runner who interfered is out, all runners return to last base occupied at the time of INT, B/R gets first base. The only case of getting the B/R out is IF, in the judgment of the umpire, the INT is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play and occurs before the baserunner is put out. This can't be the case, I'm assuming, by your words, you "don't even think there was INT in the first place."

This is the misunderstanding among parents and coaches on this rule. I hope this explanation has helped you.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.

Last edited by LIUmp; Mon Jun 04, 2012 at 05:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2012, 05:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Thanks for all the replys.

I have a much better understanding of runner interference now.

Thanks Again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'Slapper' Batter/Runner interference question okla21fan Softball 24 Fri Sep 25, 2009 01:03pm
Runner Interference HOU@CIN 8-8 LeeBallanfant Baseball 7 Sun Aug 10, 2008 02:28pm
Question Re: ASA website June Clarification on Runner Interference Play HawkeyeCubP Softball 5 Thu Jul 06, 2006 03:34pm
Runner interference versus umpire interference Jay R Baseball 1 Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm
Runner Interference Blaine Gallant Baseball 6 Mon Jul 02, 2001 12:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1