The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 4,892
dead ball strike

When a batter is struck by the pitch on a swinging strike, it is a dead ball strike.
It is uncaught by the catcher, but what about strike three. The dead ball means nothing can happen.
So, when the batter would be allowed to attempt 1st base, the batter can not attempt 1st, and the catcher can not tag the batter out.
What am I missing? Is this a conundrum that has a solution? I only checked three rule books and one case book, no clear answer found.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,315
As you have noted, it is a dead ball, strike three, so nothing further can happen. I don't see a real conundrum here, though.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 7,720
Too little sleep, Cecil? The ball was dead the moment it hit the batter. Nothing that happens after a dead ball matters. If the dead ball strike was strike 3, the batter is out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
I see nothing but a 'DEAD BALL". What else can happen? Maybe a doctor
for batter. Happened this weekend in NAFA Qualifier. Batter swung, made
contact with ball, but it broke her finger. Coach could not believe that it
was a simple out, since 3rd K. "Blue, it broke her finger." I was nice, made
no comment.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 13,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskers_ump
Coach could not believe that it
was a simple out, since 3rd K. "Blue, it broke her finger." I was nice, made
no comment.
Let me see, was something like this going through your mind:

"Coach, then maybe the next time she shouldn't hit the ball with it. Here's your sign!"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2008, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 143
Was her broken finger part of the bat LOL?
__________________
Matt
Not an official,
just a full-time dad,
part-time coach,
here to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 4,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
As you have noted, it is a dead ball, strike three, so nothing further can happen. I don't see a real conundrum here, though.
As Tom suggests, maybe that was too early for me to explain clearly.
The conundrum is that by the book, the batter is not out because the strike three was uncaught and if the ball is dead, the batter can not be tagged out or played out at 1st. The question is about what is in the rules.
I ruled her out, my partner agreed, no one argued, but I'm wondering how this is covered in my books (NCAA,NFHS,ASA,USSSA,PONY) and where.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
As Tom suggests, maybe that was too early for me to explain clearly.
The conundrum is that by the book, the batter is not out because the strike three was uncaught and if the ball is dead, the batter can not be tagged out or played out at 1st. The question is about what is in the rules.
I ruled her out, my partner agreed, no one argued, but I'm wondering how this is covered in my books (NCAA,NFHS,ASA,USSSA,PONY) and where.
You are mixing up two rules that dont apply together. The ASA rule clearly states that a batter is out when the 3rd strike is swung at and the ball touches any part of the batter. The ball is dead, the batter is out.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 07:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 4,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
You are mixing up two rules that dont apply together. The ASA rule clearly states that a batter is out when the 3rd strike is swung at and the ball touches any part of the batter. The ball is dead, the batter is out.
I hadn't checked my ASA book, but I will now.
Thanks for posting on topic.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 332
PONY 10-1-e says that when a pitched ball touches any part of the batter's person or clothing whether the ball was struck at or not.

The "play" in PONY book says “B1 swings at a pitched ball and the ball hits her hand while holding the bat."

The "ruling” a Strike shall be called and the ball will be dead. the hand is not part of the bat

NCAA 11.16.2.3 “ The ball touches any part of the batter’s person as she swings and misses for a third strike

Effect: the ball is dead, the batter is out, and each runner must return to the base last legally occupied at the time of the pitch

hope this could help a little
__________________
when the world gets in my face I say Have a nice day

For all those who don't know ... Ed Hickox is the MAN

NFHS NCAA PONY ASA ISC USSSA
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 168
NSA also spells it out.

"The batter is out when the 3rd strike is struck at and missed including if the ball touches any part of the batter's person."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live Ball Treated as Dead Ball Foul GPC2 Football 9 Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:04am
Dropped 3rd Strike - Dead Ball? Spence Softball 12 Tue May 17, 2005 09:06am
Dead ball strike question? 3afan Softball 5 Thu Sep 23, 2004 03:23pm
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am
Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? cmckenna Baseball 2 Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1