The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Softball/ASA Substitution rules (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/12307-softball-asa-substitution-rules.html)

Palmer Tue Feb 17, 2004 03:33am

I am a new 12U travel coach with several questions concerning ASA substitution rules/ using the DEFO, etc. It seems that in several tournament we have been in, other coaches have a little more savy in changing their players around, than I. If someone could give me a quick study for dummies guide on using the DEFO effectively, I would appreciate it. Also if you have a substitute player on the bench, in a tournament can she run for anyone, not just the pitcher or catcher, also once coming into the game, can she only run for that girl, or next inning can she run for a different girl ???, Or is she tied to that player. If anyone could give me some help, advise I would be most appreciative.......Thanks

Dakota Tue Feb 17, 2004 09:53am

Welcome to the board, Palmer! http://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung...smiley-069.gif

Wow! Lotsa stuff to cover.

I'll start with the easy one. (BTW, you say 12U; I'm assuming fastpitch).

Quote:

. Also if you have a substitute player on the bench, in a tournament can she run for anyone, not just the pitcher or catcher, also once coming into the game, can she only run for that girl, or next inning can she run for a different girl ???, Or is she tied to that player.
Let's split this into two questions: 1) Courtesy runner, and 2) Pinch runner. They are different, and treated differently in the rules.

1) Courtesy runner... A courtesy runner is a runner who runs for another player without it being a charged substitution. (ASA Rule 1 DEFINITIONS).

A courtesy runner may be used for the pitcher or catcher only (ASA Rule 8-10A).

A courtesy runner may be any eligible substitute who has not been in the game (8-10C).