The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 29, 2013, 12:31am
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 430
NCAA: Illegal Substitution

During the a WSU/Stanford game, R announces an illegal substitution say something like "#85 entered the game but failed to participate." Seemed to be a dead ball foul.

Any idea?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 29, 2013, 01:15pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Wheaton, IL
Posts: 23,955
IS can be dead or live ball.

I am confused what you are asking?

Peace
__________________
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 29, 2013, 03:26pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 430
I think R called it a DB illegal sub. I'm confused how one can fail to participate during a dead ball.

Perhaps someone can explain what is meant by "failed to participate" and how that relates to an illegal substitution.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 29, 2013, 03:40pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 792
The 12th player ran on the field during a dead ball (prior to the snap). After the snap, he did not participate, so no illegal participation foul supersedes the illegal substitution foul. Hence, dead ball IS, 5 yards from the previous spot, replay the down.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 29, 2013, 04:30pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 778
Two other ways it can happen:
1) substitute comes onto the field, communicates with a teammate (thereby becoming a player) and then leaving the field before the snap.

2) Player goes to the sideline believing that he's been replaced by a substitute. Then he realizes that he hasn't actually been replaced, and he returns to the field without sitting out a play.

Rules references: 2-27-9, 3-5-2d, and AR 3-5-2-III.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 29, 2013, 08:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,023
Quote:
so no illegal participation foul supersedes the illegal substitution foul.
There is no foul for illegal participation.

A 12th player coming on, staying on, or not getting off is an illegal substitution foul. If discovered before or simultaneous with the snap, it should be blown dead. Otherwise, its a live ball foul. While it doesn't matter whether one participates in the play, a substitute is defined, in part as...

Quote:
A legal incoming substitute becomes a player when he enters the field of play or end zones and communicates with a teammate or an official, enters the huddle, is positioned in an offensive or a defensive formation, OR participates in a play.
(note the bold and caps)

Its disjunctive so the R might have had the definition memorized and in mind.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
illegal Substitution or illegal Participation verticalStripes Football 11 Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:57am
Illegal Substitution or Nothing? golfdesigner Football 13 Wed Oct 03, 2007 03:09pm
Illegal Substitution?? GPC2 Football 8 Mon Sep 10, 2007 07:16pm
Illegal Substitution whistleman Volleyball 8 Wed Feb 08, 2006 11:43am
Illegal Substitution SC Ump Softball 5 Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1