The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 08, 2009, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Center Eligible on Extra Point

Here is the play...

Extra Point... (Swinging Gate)

Team A has 7 on the line. The snapper is #88 and is on the end of the line (six other players are on the line to the left of him.

IS HE ELIGIBLE? He's eligible by position and number.

Last edited by IMSports007; Thu Oct 08, 2009 at 10:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 08, 2009, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMSports007 View Post
Team A has 7 on the line. The center is #88 and is on the end of the line (six other players are on the line to the left of him.
Yes - he's eligible. He's not a center, though. He's a snapper.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 08, 2009, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 191
yes #88 is eligible due to number and on end of line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,187
if it's a regular field goal on 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down, he would be ineligible.

if it's 4th down or a try, then he is eligible
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
if it's a regular field goal on 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down, he would be ineligible.

if it's 4th down or a try, then he is eligible
If it is NFHS, the snapper is eligible regardless of down. The snapper is on the end of the line, so he is not in under the numbering exception.

NFHS does not have a rule regarding snapper eligibility. It does have rules regarding numbering exceptions (which does not apply to ends).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppaltice View Post
If it is NFHS, the snapper is eligible regardless of down. The snapper is on the end of the line, so he is not in under the numbering exception.

NFHS does not have a rule regarding snapper eligibility. It does have rules regarding numbering exceptions (which does not apply to ends).
Ok, i understand now. The way I read/interpreted it didn't make sense to begin with.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppaltice View Post
If it is NFHS, the snapper is eligible regardless of down. The snapper is on the end of the line, so he is not in under the numbering exception.

NFHS does not have a rule regarding snapper eligibility. It does have rules regarding numbering exceptions (which does not apply to ends).
The new numbering exception rule (7-2-5b excep. 1) DOES refer to snapper eligibility. On 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down, if K sets or shifts into a scrimmage kick formation (field goal only), then the snapper can be numbered 1-49 or 80-99. If the snapper is in the game under this numbering exception, he must be between the ends and he remains ineligible throughout the down unless the pass is touched by B.

Last edited by CWIG; Fri Oct 09, 2009 at 12:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIG View Post
The new numbering exception rule (7-2-5b excep. 1) DOES refer to snapper eligibility. On 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down, if K sets or shifts into a scrimmage kick formation (field goal only), then the snapper can be numbered 1-49 or 80-99. If the snapper is in the game under this numbering exception, he must be between the ends and he remains ineligible throughout the down unless the pass is touched by B.
The snapper can be 1-49 or 80-99 on first, second or third down and be on the end of the line as long as their are five other players on the line numbered 50-79. In this scenario, he is not in the game under the numbering exception. It does not matter what formation is used.

If only four players are numbered 50-79, THEN the snapper must be between the ends and is ineligible, and the offense must be in a 2-14-2a scrimmage kick formation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullycon View Post
The snapper can be 1-49 or 80-99 on first, second or third down and be on the end of the line as long as their are five other players on the line numbered 50-79. In this scenario, he is not in the game under the numbering exception. It does not matter what formation is used.

If only four players are numbered 50-79, THEN the snapper must be between the ends and is ineligible, and the offense must be in a 2-14-2a scrimmage kick formation.
Bullycon,
Thanks. I actually thought you were incorrect but after reading the rule and your reply- I learned something today.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullycon View Post

If only four players are numbered 50-79, THEN the snapper must be between the ends and is ineligible, and the offense must be in a 2-14-2a scrimmage kick formation.
The rule definition contradicts your statement. It says "Team A shall have AT LEAST four players numbered 50-79 on its line of scrimmage". I believe the intent of the rule is to clarify how and when Team A can have the snapper with an eligible number on a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down scrimmage kick...1. field goal formation, 2. the snapper is not on the end of the line and he is ineligible.

Last edited by CWIG; Fri Oct 09, 2009 at 02:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIG View Post
The rule definition contradicts your statement. It says "Team A shall have AT LEAST four players numbered 50-79 on its line of scrimmage". I believe the intent of the rule is to clarify how and when Team A can have the snapper with an eligible number on a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down scrimmage kick...1. field goal formation, 2. the snapper is not on the end of the line and he is ineligible.

The start of the rule (7-2-5b) is: 'At the snap, at least five A players on their line of scrimmage must be numbered 50-79.' Two exceptions are listed after this statement.

If you have five Team A players numbered 50-79, you are not under the exception.

In the OP, you have a player with an eligible number in an eligible position (end of the line). He is eligible by both numbering and position.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,142
If the numbering exception is being used, 0n 1st-3rd downs, a snapper with an eligible number may be used to satisfy the formation requirement of 5 linemen numbered 50-79, but he must snap from between the ends and is ineligible.

If there are already 5 linemen numbered 50-79, the numbering exception is NOT in play. Any number player can snap from anywhere on the line, and if he happens to choose either end, the combination of an eligible number in an eligible position would make him eligible for a forward pass.

The numbering exception requirements, like kicking rules don't apply when there is no kick, do not apply when the numbering exception is not used.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Center Eligible? Simbio Football 35 Wed May 13, 2009 02:25am
Extra Point Question pf7612 Football 10 Tue Jan 08, 2008 01:15pm
Center eligible? youmakethecall Football 10 Sun Nov 30, 2003 02:56pm
OU-UT extra point bigwhistle Football 5 Sun Oct 13, 2002 08:22pm
Extra Point Kick Smoke Football 17 Wed Sep 18, 2002 10:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1