The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 24, 2005, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
In another junior high game today (NFHS), R1 muffs a punt at his 6 and it goes into the end zone where K recovers. Our line judge, a high school kid, signaled Touchdown.

After confering with him that it was a muff that travelled into the end zone with no new force, I ruled it a touchBACK. R's ball on the 20. In the book, I checked through Rule 6 and Rule 8 but couldn't find it.

My thinking was that the kick hadn't ended since it hadn't been possessed by R so the automatic touchback was sticll in effect.

Any help out there would be greatly appreciated.
RookieRef2005
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 24, 2005, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 136
2-13-4 Force is not a factor a) On kicks going into R's end zone, since these kicks are always a touchback regardless of who supplied the force.
__________________
See the ball, insure its dead
Then the whistle, not ahead
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 24, 2005, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally posted by rookieref2005
My thinking was that the kick hadn't ended since it hadn't been possessed by R so the automatic touchback was sticll in effect.
Correct, you got it. Touchback.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 24, 2005, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Start the definitions: 2-13-4-a
then 4-2-2-d-1
then 6-3,
then 8-5-3
then football fundmental IV.5

Thay all complement one another

[Edited by Theisey on Sep 24th, 2005 at 08:43 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 24, 2005, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 146
Different for NCAA....touchdown?
__________________
Steven S. Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 25, 2005, 06:44am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,485
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally posted by rookieref2005
In another junior high game today (NFHS), R1 muffs a punt at his 6 and it goes into the end zone where K recovers. Our line judge, a high school kid, signaled Touchdown.
This sounds like a touchdown to me. R's touching makes it a live ball.

Quote:
Originally posted by rookieref2005
After confering with him that it was a muff that travelled into the end zone with no new force, I ruled it a touchBACK. R's ball on the 20. In the book, I checked through Rule 6 and Rule 8 but couldn't find it.
In Canada, and for this situation, this is not a new force.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1