The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Mar 24, 2006, 09:42am
Official Forum Member

Wink Basket-ball in America

hi!I'm a french student and I have a homework to do about basket-ball and I choose to make it on the importance of this sport in the American culture. So I'd like you just to tell me why you like this sport and why this is so important to you.
Thanks.
Old Fri Mar 24, 2006, 11:15am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
I belive you'll have to try and narrow down the question a bit, and also, this is an officiating board. I belive this question is better suited for a fan board (wich there are loads off) we discuss rules and officiating, this typ of question is more of a fan question so I suggest you ask a fan insted of us refs
Old Fri Mar 24, 2006, 11:45am
Official Forum Member

I think there are about as many reasons it is popular as there are people. Personally, there are a number of things that drew me to the game. It can be played in a variety of numbers. I grew up in a small town so it was hard coming up with numbers to play football or baseball. 2 of us could get together and we had enough to play. I also think basketball is the closest thing to a perfect blend between athletic and mental ability. A smart player can be as valuable (or more valuable) than an athletic player and vice versa. I think the game models American culture in that it can be highly individualistic and artistic, but the team has to work together, much like the priniciples our nation was founded upon. Just my $.02 of course. Interesting to hear this as an assignment. I've always thought that baseball more closely mirrored American society, but as time has progressed, I think basktball might be taking over to a certain extent.
Old Fri Mar 24, 2006, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to dave30