The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Apr 17, 2004, 12:23am
Official Forum Member

This is my first time in the forum. I tried to use the search function to see if this had been asked before but it didn't work. So I apologize if this has already been covered.

My question is whether the NBA disallowing Bob Sura's triple-double is consistent with players like T-Mac being allowed to throw the ball off the backboard and catch and dunk it. I am just interested in the NBA rules about this.

Sura missed a shot on purpose in order to get his tenth rebound. This was held to not be a rebound because it was not a field goal attempt because by Rule 4, Section XI "a field goal attempt is a player's attempt to shoot the ball into his basket for a field goal." Here there was no attempt to shoot the ball "into" the basket.

If this was not a field goal attempt, should it have been called a travel when Sura caught the ball after it hit the rim? Or is it more like when you throw the ball off of another player and then retrieve it, which is not a travel (after all, I assume the shot clock would reset in this situation, so it would be weird if that could happen in the middle of a travel).

Even supposing that would not count as a travel, what about if you throw it off the backboard and then catch it (that is, is hitting the backboard different than hitting the rim even if neither are field goal attempts?). It would not be a field goal attempt, so would it be a travel or just nothing (like throwing it off another player)?

What if you stand flat footed, throw the ball off the backboard, jump and dunk it before you touch the ground? I assume this wouldn't be a travel either way because your feet never landed after you got the ball back. Or what if you threw the ball off the backboard, took three steps, and jumped and dunked it before your feet hit the ground? Is this a travel?