The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 01:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 830
Force play or time play?

Saw the following caseplay in Referee Magazine:

PLAY: With two outs, R1 on first ad R2 on second, B7 hits an apparent double. R2 touches third and heads for home as R1 misses second and heads for third. Without physically assisting R1, the third-base coach sends R1 back toward second. R1 is tagged out before getting back to second base and just after R2 had crossed the plate. RULING: No runs score. Even though R2 touched the plate before R1'a out, R1 never legally advanced to second base, the base to which he was forced. Therefore, R1's out is a force out and since it was the third out, no run can score. All codes agree. (NFHS 9-1-1 Exception B; NCAA 5-6c Exception 2; pro 7.12)

It still requires an appeal if he's on the third base side to be a force, right? Is there anything in the MLBUM about this?

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 06:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post

It still requires an appeal if he's on the third base side to be a force, right? Is there anything in the MLBUM about this?

Rita
I'm not sure just what you're asking.

The runner must be beyond the base to have missed it.

And of course to get an out the defense must appeal the missed base.

By rule -- and at every level -- a missed base appeal at a base to which the runner was forced remains a force play, with everything that entails. You have the citations.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,680
No matter how this out takes place, with a actual appeal or a tag during continuing action, the third out was a force out. Citations already stated, no runs score. The timing of R2 touching the plate was irrelavant.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,427
J/R agrees with you Rita. According to that manual, the tag of R1 is not an appeal, and it is not a force, so R2 scores on the time play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I'm not sure just what you're asking.

The runner must be beyond the base to have missed it.
I think Rita was saying the force would be reinstated if R1 had retreated past 2nd base.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
No matter how this out takes place, with a actual appeal or a tag during continuing action, the third out was a force out. Citations already stated, no runs score. The timing of R2 touching the plate was irrelavant.
What if R1 had continued to home and was tagged out there. Would you call that a force out?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 09:21am
JJ JJ is offline
OFM
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,078
Hmmmm....If R1 is tagged between second and third, I've got a time play UNLESS the defense appeals that R1 missed second base. That's a "fourth out" and the defense can pick the inning-ending out that's most advantageous to them. Logically, they should pick the appeal play, which would be a force out, which would negate the run.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 13,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
Hmmmm....If R1 is tagged between second and third, I've got a time play UNLESS the defense appeals that R1 missed second base. That's a "fourth out" and the defense can pick the inning-ending out that's most advantageous to them. Logically, they should pick the appeal play, which would be a force out, which would negate the run.

JJ

I agree. It seems that RefMag either failed to post part of the situation, or missed the answer (neither of which is paticularly rare).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Maybe the question is this: R1 is tagged while off base. If that's the only play on him, then his out is NOT a force play. In other words, if the defense merely treats him as a runner off base, tagging him by itself does not constitute a valid appeal.

If he's tagged in order the APPEAL the missed base, then his out IS a force play.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Maybe the question is this: R1 is tagged while off base. If that's the only play on him, then his out is NOT a force play. In other words, if the defense merely treats him as a runner off base, tagging him by itself does not constitute a valid appeal.
Yes, that was Rita's OP question.

J/R has a nearly identical play (except with R1 & R3 instead of R1 & R2). The tag of R1 - who is returning to 2nd base to correct his baserunning error - is neither an appeal nor a force out, and it's a time play at the plate.

What I can't understand is: J/R says a subsequent appeal of R1's miss is not allowed. Why not? The tag of R1 is certainly part of the continuous action caused by and following the batted ball (how can it NOT be if there is a time play at the plate), so, according to MLBUM and everyone else, the defense does not lose it's right to appeal R1's miss.

BTW: Rita - great catch and thanks for initiating a discussion involving something other than clothing!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 01:17pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
J/R would indeed be wrong in this case. The defense may legally appeal the missed base, which would result in an advantageous fourth out, and no runs score as the 3rd out would be the result of a force.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
BTW: Rita - great catch and thanks for initiating a discussion involving something other than clothing!
I thought that it was a good deal on some great shirts, and I wanted everyone to know about it. I'm sorry I didn't clear it with you, first. Please make a list of your personal standards and preferences, and I will make a better effort to avoid offending you.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty View Post
I thought that it was a good deal on some great shirts, and I wanted everyone to know about it. I'm sorry I didn't clear it with you, first. Please make a list of your personal standards and preferences, and I will make a better effort to avoid offending you.
I wasn't offended and I have no problem with your post about a great shirt deal. I was merely welcoming a discussion about baseball. Maybe you should switch to decaf.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
I wasn't offended and I have no problem with your post about a great shirt deal. I was merely welcoming a discussion about baseball. Maybe you should switch to decaf.
I tried that on Thanksgiving weekend when my stepmother forced it down my throat, and I almost fell asleep behind the wheel. I'll just stop at one espresso and see how that works. ... My bad.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Blount Springs, Alabama
Posts: 3,097
In the OP, the only possible reason the runner could be returning to 2B is that he failed to touch it and figures the defense will appeal. I would consider the tag out an obvious appeal play (like a runner obviously off a base when a line drive is caught by an infielder) and nullify the run.

Otherwise, even after the runner was put out for the third out, I would allow the appeal on the advantageous 4th out as Steve says.

The statement in the OP, "R1 never legally advanced to 2B," is wrong.

I'm not going to dig out my J/R, but I can't believe the J/R would not allow the advantageous appeal. I suspect the OP is being confused with that play where the sliding (forced) runner misses 2B but passes it and is then tagged out reaching back for the bag.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Moniti Meliora Sequamur
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force play or tag play dsbrooks1014 Baseball 3 Tue Apr 21, 2009 09:09pm
Force Play rottiron01 Softball 32 Fri Aug 31, 2007 07:04pm
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
Force or Time Play?? Dave Davies Baseball 7 Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:14pm
Force Out Play jggilliam Softball 9 Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1