The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jun 08, 2004, 08:39am
Official Forum Member

Hello. I have been coaching little league for 10 years and umpiring for some 5 years and something came up last night that affected the outcome of the game. In our first playoff game (I was coaching) at the 9-10 level our pitcher hit 4 kids over 3 innings. The umpire then told me (keep in mind no warnings where ever given to coaches or pitcher) that the pitcher needed to be removed from the mound and replaced with another pitcher.
He explained to the coaches that it was a rule in the little league rule book that after 4 hit batters the pitcher MUST be pulled out of game. We couldn't find that rule in the book after studying it last night!
I have never heard of this but can tell you I have coached and umpired many a game where many more then 4 players have been hit. Keep in mind this was a 9 year old and control is only so good. Is this in fact a rule? Should warnings have been given? I could see his point if he said it was at his discretion that it would be safest to remove the pitcher, but he insisted it was in the rule book. We did appeal as this was a playoff game and our second best pitcher was throwing. We were winning 6-3 at the time and were forced to bring in our third best pitcher who didn't fare so well. The game was called after six innings tied 11-11. As this is a hot topic and the timing is important could you PLEASE get back to me ASAP .